I was a waitress throughout high school and college, and one restaurant I worked at had a to-die-for corn chowder. Of all the soups we served, Angie’s Indian Corn Chowder was the only one that didn’t come straight out of a bag. We usually ran out halfway through the night and had to substitute something inferior.

Angie was a fiesty little prep cook who guarded her secrets well. We were buddies, but she wouldn’t share her recipe, even when I told her we were moving out of state. My husband and I have been trying to replicate it for six years; we met while we were both working at that little diner, and we ate a lot of soup together.

The original formula was for chicken taco soup, which I found online somewhere and didn’t care for. I tweaked the spices, switched up the beans, and used ground beef instead of the chicken.  Finally, I modified it to be slow-cooker friendly, because I am far too lazy to cook soup from scratch after a long day!

Without further delay, I give you… Indian Corn Chowder!

You’ll need:

  • One pound lean ground beef
  • One onion, chopped
  • Two cloves garlic, minced
  • One 14 oz can chili beans
  • One 14 oz can black beans with cumin
  • Two 14 oz cans of corn, drained
  • One 14-15 oz can tomato sauce
  • Two cans diced tomatoes with chiles
  • One package spicy taco seasoning (use regular if you don’t like things too hot)
  • Salt, pepper, and additional cumin to taste
  1. Brown beef in a medium skillet. Drain off fat.
  2. Add onions and garlic to beef, and continue cooking until vegetables are soft and translucent.
  3. Combine beef mixture, beans, corn, tomato sauce, tomatoes, and taco seasoning in slow cooker.
  4. Cook on “low” for seven hours, or crank it up to “high” for four.
  5. Taste before serving and add additional salt, pepper, and cumin to taste.

Serves 6-8 generously!

I don’t have the nutritional information for this, but I suppose I could try to figure it out if anyone’s interested. I imagine it’s ridiculously high in salt since most of the foods come in a can. If you’re on a low sodium diet, rinse the  beans before adding them to the pot, use frozen corn instead of canned, and use a low-sodium taco seasoning, if you can find one.

This is a phenomenally tasty dish all by itself. I like to serve it with corn muffins and globs of sour cream, but you could also try crumbling some corn tortilla chips on top.  Yum!

